European Travel Commission general assembly successfully concludes in Cyprus

Cyprus Tourism Organization

Cyprus Tourism Organization (CTO) recently hosted 40 foreign delegates on the island for the general assembly of the European Travel Commission (ETC).

According to CTO, the event, which took place in the Ammochostos region of Cyprus from May 11-13, was a great success, leaving delegates satisfied with the event organisation as well as the hospitality offered. Enthusiasm was expressed about the island’s many attractions and its high-quality tourism product.

On day one of the event, ETC’s board of directors held its general meeting followed by a reception at Ayia Napa Monastery organised with the support of Ayia Napa Council. A dinner at a traditional tavern followed in the town of Sotira where the Mayors of Sotira as well as Deryneia attended.


On the second day, the ETC general assembly was held which welcomed speeches from president, ETC, Peter De Wilde; Cyprus’ Minister of Energy, Commerce, Industry and Tourism, George Lakkotrypis; and acting general manager, CTO, Annita Demetriadou.

The programme concluded on the final day with an excursion by ferry to the coastal region of Protaras. This was followed by a meal courtesy of Paralimni Council.

Attending the general assembly were representatives from  Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia and Spain, while by popular vote, representatives from Iceland, Norway and Slovenia were also present. A range of subjects were discussed by the commission relating to EU Commission-ETC cooperation, promotional activities and research, as well as presenting new members.