flydubai participates in East Africa roadshow


In an effort to stimulate business and raise awareness, flydubai is taking part in Dubai’s Department of Tourism and Commerce Marketing’s (Dubai Tourism) inaugural East Africa roadshow.

The airline is joining 14 Dubai-based partners in showcasing a variety of services and upcoming attractions.

flydubai stopped off in Kampala on August 24, and is continuing to Dar es Salaam on August 30.


The roadshow presents an ideal platform for local operators to meet with the airline and learn about the services and choices on offer to passengers wanting to fly directly to Dubai for business or leisure.

CEO, Dubai Tourism, Issam Kazim remarked: “The potential of Uganda and Tanzania as a source market is positive, and this roadshow provides us with the opportunity to directly interact with the operators here and showcase what Dubai has to offer. We look forward to making long-lasting and fruitful trade relationships during the trip to further grow the tourism market in Uganda for the benefit of all.”

Also commenting was senior vice president commercial operations – GCC, Africa and Indian Sub-Continent, flydubai, Sudhir Sreedharan: “We are very pleased to take part in Dubai Tourism’s first-ever roadshow to East Africa and to showcase brand Dubai and flydubai. We are committed to opening up underserved markets and providing reliable, direct air links to destinations that previously had no or very few connections to Dubai.

“East Africa is a very important market that has shown significant growth over the past few years. We currently operate 82 weekly flights to 11 points in Africa, including three weekly flights to Entebbe and four weekly flights to Dar es Salaam and Zanzibar. These weekly frequencies will increase to four flights to Entebbe and seven flights to Dar es Salaam and Zanzibar from October,” Sreedharan explained.

The Dubai-based carrier currently serves 11 destinations in North and East Africa, which include: Addis Ababa, Alexandria, Asmara, Dar es Salaam, Djibouti, Entebbe, Hargeisa, Juba, Khartoum, Port Sudan and Zanzibar.